Vision/ Mission of the department and About the department (include major research areas of faculty, library information)

The Department of Mathematics, Panjab University, Chandigarh was established in 1952 at Hoshiarpur and was shifted to Chandigarh in 1958. It has grown to be one of the best Departments of Mathematics of the Indian Universities. It has been recognized as Centre of Advanced Studies in Mathematics since 1963 by the UGC. The Department participated in COSIP program during 1970-1983 and subsequently in COSIST program from 1984-1989. The Department of Science and Technology, Govt. of India, had sponsored the Department for the FIST (Level-II) Program. The National Board for Higher Mathematics (NBHM) has granted the status of Regional Library to the Library of the Department and supports the Consortium for the online access of Math Sci Net, for which the Department is the leading partner. The NBHM has been providing huge funds every year for books and journals. The Department is a source centre for Regional as well as National Mathematical Olympiad participants for the North-West Region. The Department is also zonal centre for the award of NBHM, M.A./M.Sc. and Ph.D scholarships awarded by the Department of Atomic Energy, Govt. of India. At present, the Department has 15 regular faculty members and 2 UGC Assistant Professors in addition to 4 Emeritus Professors in this department. The faculty of the Department is bestowed with various honours such as Padam Bhushan, Srinivas Ramanujan Medal of INSA and ISCA, Jawahar Lal Nehru Award of ISCA, Megh Nath Saha Award in Mathematical Sciences, V.V. Narlikar Memorial Lecture Award of INSA, INSA Young Scientist Award, Narasinga Rao Medal of Indian Mathematical Society, B. C. Roy Award, Biren Roy Award of INSA, Bhatnagar Award, Fellowships of the three national science academies, Platinum Jubilee Lecture of Indian Science Congress Association, Co-chairman of International Conference on 'Continuum Mechanics' held in 1989, Vancouver, Canada, UGC National Fellowship, Young Scientist Award of UNESCO, Rostca, Sir James Lighthil Award Lecture(IMS), P.L. Bhatnagar Lecture Award(IMS), Srinivasa Ramanujan Memorial Lecture Award(IMS), Jawahar Lal Nehru Birth Centenary Fellowship. Several Faculty Members of the Department are members of various National Boards and Committees, Editorial boards of Journals and the Board of Studies and other academic bodies of other Universities in addition to those of Panjab University. Most of the faculty members actively collaborate with international community and have regularly visited several Universities in Canada, USA and Europe. They regularly participate in national and international conferences. The Ongoing Thrust Areas are Algebra & Number Theory, Continuum Mechanics, Operational Research Numerical Analysis.

Courses Information

The Department offers B.Sc.(HS) Mathematics, M.Sc.(HS) Mathematics and Ph.D.

Benefits of the course

The students of our department are placed in teaching jobs in Corporate/Government/private institutions.

Prominent Alumni

Prof. R P Bambah, Ex. Vice-Chancellor, Panjab University, Prof. S, Bhatnagar, (USA), Prof. K. T. Arasu (USA), Prof. T N Shorey, TFIR, Mumbai, Prof. Manickam, USA, etc.

Placements

Our students are placed in teaching jobs in Government/private educational institutions. The Panjab University has its own Central Placement Cell and all students including graduate, postgraduate and Ph.D can appear in the placement drive of jobs of various companies. Apart from that the department also has a placement committee which hosts the companies for the placement drive every year. Every year few students are placed in reputed companies from department itself.

Scholarships

The Department offiers V.C. Dumir scholarship, Smt Balwant Kaur & Dhanpat Rai scholarship , Prof. Hans Raj Gupta Memorial Scholarship and Gargi Scholarship for girls students.

Last year cut off

B.Sc. (HS) Mathematics 72% (Maximum) 54% (Minimum) and M.Sc. (HS) Mathematics 79% (maximum) 67% (minimum)

Contact persons for queries (phone number, email id)

- 1. Dr. DB Rishi 9888889520 rishidb@yahoo.co.in
- 2. Dr. Manisha Sharma 9914905729, 9815768284 manishatewaripu@gmail.com
- 3. Dr. Anjana Khurana 9417566843 anjana@pu.ac.in
- 4. Dr., Sarita Pippal 9870841523 sarita@pu.ac.in
- 5. Prof. Renu Bajaj, 9878061016 rbajaj@pu.ac.in

Link: http://onlineadmissions.puchd.ac.in, Dept. link: maths.puchd.ac.in