Department of Mathematics

About Department of Mathematics


Department of MathematicsThe Department of Mathematics, Panjab University, Chandigarh was established in 1952 at Hoshiarpur and was shifted to Chandigarh in 1958. It has grown to be one of the best Departments of Mathematics of the Indian Universities. It has been recognized as Centre of Advanced Studies in Mathematics since 1963 by the UGC. The Department participated in COSIP program during 1970-1983 and subsequently in COSIST program from 1984-1989. The Department of Science and Technology, Govt. of India, had sponsored the Department for the FIST (Level-II) Program. The National Board for Higher Mathematics (NBHM) has granted the status of Regional Library to the Library of the Department and supports the Consortium for the online access of Math Sci Net, for which the Department is the leading partner. The NBHM has been providing huge funds every year for books and journals. The Department is a source centre for Regional as well as National Mathematical Olympiad participants for the North-West Region. The Department is also zonal centre for the award of NBHM, M.A./M.Sc. and Ph.D scholarships awarded by the Department of Atomic Energy, Govt. of India. The Department is facilitated with two well-equipped computing labs and fully equipped Seminar Room with all the latest infrastructural facilities of a smart class room. At present, the Department has 16 regular faculty members and 2 UGC Assistant Professors plus 25 research scholars in addition to 4 Emeritus Professors in this department. The faculty of the Department is bestowed with various honours such as Padam Bhushan, Srinivas Ramanujan Medal of INSA and ISCA, Jawahar Lal Nehru Award of ISCA, Megh Nath Saha Award in Mathematical Sciences, V.V. Narlikar Memorial Lecture Award of INSA, INSA Young Scientist Award, Narasinga Rao Medal of Indian Mathematical Society, B. C. Roy Award, Biren Roy Award of INSA, Bhatnagar Award, Fellowships of the three national science academies, Platinum Jubilee Lecture of Indian Science Congress Association, Co-chairman of International Conference on 'Continuum Mechanics' held in 1989, Vancouver, Canada, UGC National Fellowship, Young Scientist Award of UNESCO, Rostca, Sir James Lighthil Award Lecture(IMS), P.L. Bhatnagar Lecture Award (IMS), Srinivasa Ramanujan Memorial Lecture Award (IMS), Jawahar Lal Nehru Birth Centenary Fellowship. Several Faculty Members of the Department are members of various National Boards and Committees, Editorial boards of Journals and the Board of Studies and other academic bodies of other Universities in addition to those of Panjab University. Most of the faculty members actively collaborate with international community and have regularly visited several Universities in Canada, USA and Europe. They regularly participate in national and international conferences.


Enquiry No(s): 1800-180-2065, +91 172 2534818, 2534866 (from 9:30 am to 1:00 pm & 2:30 pm to 5:00 pm on working days )

© 1997- 2024 - Panjab University, Chandigarh, India. Developed by: Computer Centre, Panjab University  |   Disclaimer